How do you choose your yarn?

I have been recently thinking about yarn. Maybe I am not alone here.. yarn feels nice, looks like candy (sometimes better) and can be full of potential and inspiration.

I would love to be able to buy only 100% handmade, ecological, naturally dyed happy lamb wool yarn. However, until very recently I have been living on a student budget and unfortunately I have had to prioritize my shopping. During this time I have learned to recycle yarn. To not throw away unsuccessful projects, but rip them and make something better. To shop in thrift stores, to re-purpose old sweaters. But sometimes I have also been tempted and lured into buying yarn that may look and feel nice and bright but is 100% acrylic. Now this yarn is practically plastic. When you throw it away, it will never decompose. Never.

Plus a recent study shows that washing a fleece sweater (same material as acrylic yarn) releases micro particles that end up in our seas, and then in the ecosystem. Researchers are not sure what the long-term consequences are, but it is a real issue because most of our clothes nowadays contain plastic.

Any thoughts? Where do you buy your yarn? What are the things affecting your purchase decisions?

 

 

Image

 

In picture, one of the beautiful tiny balls of yarn I found today at the local thrift store.

You may also like this post: Darn Good Yarn